Formative Language Assessment Records for ELLs
Assessment Model > Language Assessment Frameworks

Language Assessment Frameworks

flare diagram

A foundational component of the FLARE project is the assessment frameworks. The assessment frameworks are matrices of content-specific, sequential language learning goals that span Grades 6-12. These frameworks are being created from a fusion of:

These will serve as the reference point for subsequent FLARE materials -- specifically, the language learning targets and FLARE test specifications -- that will ultimately guide the development of the FLARE assessments. Assessment frameworks will be organized across two grade-level clusters (Grades 6-8 and 9-12) and into four content areas: language arts, mathematics, science, and social studies. The assessment frameworks, language learning targets, and FLARE assessments will be organized across three English language proficiency-level bands: Tier A-levels 1-3, Tier B-levels 2-4, and Tier C-levels 3-5 **.

For those familiar with the ACCESS for ELLs®, the WIDA Consortium's language proficiency assessment, the proficiency band organization is similar. (** WIDA has five proficiency levels: Level 1 Entering, Level 2 Begining, Level 3 Developing, Level 4 Expanding, Level 5 Bridging).

assessment framework